Around the Web

Happy October! It is now truly fall and I can really get into my halloween movies and pull out my favorite sweaters. I can’t wait for some pumpkin carving, cider making and walks on those crunchy leaves.

IMG_1843

With all the fall excitement however I do want to acknowledge the tragedy that struck Las Vegas. There is so much injustice across the world and I could never cover them all largely because I do not understand much of the conflict and its history. What happened in Las Vegas is tragic and I cry for those effected as I do for those all around the world. When it happens so close to home it really wakes me up and reminds of how far away we are from being a great country full of freedom and justice. So many people are not free, not even close. The biggest realization for me is how much we should work to help and support those who are in need, all across the world, because there is so much hate. Love is the best way to fight hate. I needed to address this because it has all I have thought about since it happened, by no means is this event more important or tragic than many others in the United States and across the world. A Cup of Jo did a short post inviting people to comment and share their feelings, they also linked How to Help which lists things you can do right now to help if you feel like you need to be active about it now (eg. donating, writing to senators etc…).

I also included the above statement because it is much of what is flooding the news here (rightly so) and therefore seemed appropriate for this Around the Web post. Now I will move on to some lighter topics. The following are the internet reads which caught my eye over the last week:

The College Prepster’s 20 Fall Outfits: Carly chooses her favorite fall outfits over the years and they are fantastic classic looks with many pieces that really bring the prep. I definitely got lots of inspiration by browsing her looks.

Friend Dates on the Cheap: Coming up with fun things to do with friends that are within budget can be a challenge. This article gives some great ideas of things to do with friends that won’t break the bank.

Events Through the Eyes of Trees: This New York Times article (and photography) highlights trees is significant locations throughout human history. Trees don’t speak for themselves so understanding there story is incredibly difficult, they have ‘witnessed’ many human stories unfold. I had not really though of this before so it is a very interesting read and the photographs are beautiful.

Podcasts for that Commute: This list of 10 podcasts for your commute gave me some great ideas for new podcasts that might intrigue me. I have got into podcasts recently and am trying to come up with my list of favorite podcast. I still feel like I don’t really know what is out there though because there are so many great ones. I had not heard of any on this list so it was a really useful one for me.

A few travel articles: So now is definitely not prime travel time but it is the off season which means it is possible to do trips for significantly cheaper. I found this article on traveling on a $1000 budget which can definitely be a stretch but reading it did give me some ideas on saving money on future trips. I also found this one which is just a fun post on Instagram poses and pictures for traveling. It is a great read if you are looking to up your Insta game.

Fall Centerpieces: I wanted to end with something that circles back to our gorgeous fall inspiration. I have been trying to come up with some easy ways to decorate for the season without spending much. I couldn’t find the article I was looking at earlier in the week but this one also has some great fall decor.  From simple to extravagant these photos are sure to give plenty of ideas on spicing up your home and table decor for the season.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks internet round up! Please feel free to share any other thoughts and ideas. Once again, happy October.

Erin

One thought on “Around the Web

Leave a Reply

